Meet CAB and INTA women researchers and technologists

11F International Day of Women & Girls in Science 2022
Link to the video of the event on YouTube

February 11 is the International Day of Women and Girls in Science, declared by the UN in 2015 ( The main objective of this special day is to achieve greater participation and inclusion of women and girls in the world of science and technology, trying to break the gender gap.

The Centro de Astrobiología (CAB, CSIC-INTA), in collaboration with the Instituto Nacional de Técnica Aeroespacial (INTA), has organized a day of talks that will be broadcast live on Friday, February 11, from the CAB’s auditorium through its youtube channel ( The program features an introductory talk, given by CAB researcher Ester Lázaro, reviewing the situation of women in the STEM areas. Then, researchers and technologists from both CAB and INTA will tell us about their work in their respective research centers. The event, which will be welcomed by the directors of INTA and CAB, will begin at 11:00 and is scheduled to last about two hours. More information can be found in the event program.

In addition, during the month of February, the CAB’s social networks will provide profiles of several of the center’s female researchers to get to know them better.


Friday, February 11, 2022.

11:00 Welcome. Lieutenant General José María Salom Piqueres, General Director of the Instituto de Técnica Aeroespacial (INTA); Víctor Parro García, Director of the Centro de Astrobiología (CAB, INTA-CSIC)

11:10 a.m. Talk “Science is also our business”, Ester Lázaro, researcher at CAB.


11:40 Presentations by researchers from the Centro de Astrobiología (CAB, CSIC-INTA):

Carmen Sánchez Contreras (Astrophysics);

Sara Gómez de Frutos (Molecular Evolution);

Victoria Muñoz Iglesias (Planetology & Habitability) and

Josefina Torres Redondo (Advanced Instrumentation)



12:20 Presentations by researchers from the Instituto Nacional de Técnica Aeroespacial (National Institute for Aerospace Technology):

Raquel López Heredero (Space Systems);

Adelaida García-Magariño García (Naval Systems);

Ana Pastor Muro (Aeronautical Systems) and

Mª José González Bonilla (Space Systems)

13:00 End of event.

Useful information